Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Whole Town's Talking

A Novel

by Fannie Flagg

eBook

1 of 1 copy available

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.
    Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it's called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town's Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Flagg's own Can't Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.
    Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. "Resting place" turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.
    With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town's Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.
    Praise for The Whole Town's Talking
    "[A] witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg's down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times."People
    "The Whole Town's Talking [is] Fannie Flagg at her best."Florida Times Union
    "If there's one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it's tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town's Talking. . . . Another brilliant novel—equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe."The Newport Plain Talk
    "Told with warmth, humor and remarkable characters, this touching novel is a tribute to the indomitable spirit of love."The Columbus Dispatch
    "Delightful."—The Washington Post
    "I could not put this book down and didn't want the tale to end. Fannie Flagg does it again; a great read you won't want to miss."The Missourian
    "It's a sweeping, cinematic approach. . . . Flagg's gentle storytelling makes the novel an easy, comfortable read that will leave a reader thinking about life, love and loss"—Minneapolis Star Tribune
    "[Fannie Flagg] creates a world familiar in its reality and its hopes, and she displays her storytelling skills, ones that are enhanced by her humanity, her optimism and her big heart. . . . The Whole Town's Talking [is] a story of life's peaks, valleys and ordinary days—and a ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself."Richmond Times-Dispatch
    "The Whole Town's Talking is warm and inviting. Flagg's Elmwood Springs novels are comfort reads of the best kind, warm and engaging without flash or fuss."Miami Herald
    "Flagg's humor shines through as she chronicles their successes, disappointments, and even a mysterious murder or two."BookPage
    "[A] charming tale."Booklist

  • Expand title description text
    Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

    Kindle Book

    • Release date: November 29, 2016

    OverDrive Read

    • ISBN: 9780399588297
    • File size: 5648 KB
    • Release date: November 29, 2016

    EPUB eBook

    • ISBN: 9780399588297
    • File size: 5648 KB
    • Release date: November 29, 2016

    1 of 1 copy available

    Formats

    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB eBook

    Languages

    English

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.
    Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it's called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town's Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Flagg's own Can't Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.
    Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. "Resting place" turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.
    With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town's Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.
    Praise for The Whole Town's Talking
    "[A] witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg's down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times."People
    "The Whole Town's Talking [is] Fannie Flagg at her best."Florida Times Union
    "If there's one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it's tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town's Talking. . . . Another brilliant novel—equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe."The Newport Plain Talk
    "Told with warmth, humor and remarkable characters, this touching novel is a tribute to the indomitable spirit of love."The Columbus Dispatch
    "Delightful."—The Washington Post
    "I could not put this book down and didn't want the tale to end. Fannie Flagg does it again; a great read you won't want to miss."The Missourian
    "It's a sweeping, cinematic approach. . . . Flagg's gentle storytelling makes the novel an easy, comfortable read that will leave a reader thinking about life, love and loss"—Minneapolis Star Tribune
    "[Fannie Flagg] creates a world familiar in its reality and its hopes, and she displays her storytelling skills, ones that are enhanced by her humanity, her optimism and her big heart. . . . The Whole Town's Talking [is] a story of life's peaks, valleys and ordinary days—and a ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself."Richmond Times-Dispatch
    "The Whole Town's Talking is warm and inviting. Flagg's Elmwood Springs novels are comfort reads of the best kind, warm and engaging without flash or fuss."Miami Herald
    "Flagg's humor shines through as she chronicles their successes, disappointments, and even a mysterious murder or two."BookPage
    "[A] charming tale."Booklist

  • Expand title description text